Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Get on the Blog the Easy Way

Yo Sailors,

It's full on winter, complete with ice storms and freezing rain.  What better time to learn a new skill?

You've seen the blog posts by others and thought, "I'd like to do that, but it's too much trouble, what with all that weird blogger stuff, etc.", "Takes too long.", "I'll do it later"....

Well now, you can post to the blog directly via email.  You can even do it via smart phone email.  That's how I did these (complete with photos):

The email address to post is provided separately.

The email subject line becomes the blog post title.

And More Harken Highlights!!

And, of course, Harken's salute to the Hobie 16.

More Harken Highlights!!

Not to be outdone by Tom's Buc post below.... here's Harken's salute to the 505.

2010 ASC Annual Meeting

Good Evening Sailors

You have a mostly new group of officers-

Commodore- Bruce Lee

Sr. Vice Commodore- Jim Aumann

Education Vice Commodore- Cheryl Childers

Racing Vice Commodore- Tom Harrison

Secretary- Kevin Frank

Treasurer- TL Stanbro

Harbor Master- Wayne Kent

Past Commodore- Geoff Wright

Kevin and Jim are filling vacancies at mid term.
TL and Cheryl are carrying through.

This group is a fantastic back up to your new Commodore--
Who will impinge upon them greatly.

The members also pasted an update to our Club Rules--
We post these on the Web Site shortly.

Race results and trophies were presented by Tom Harrison.

PW - Here's a link to the last Wet Wednesday Race of the season (previously omitted from the blog).

PW - 2010 Sailing Season overall results for the Dave Johnson Cup and the Robar Cup are here.  Scoring format is high score wins, with points awarded to correspond with the number of boats in each regatta.  I.e. ten boats raced, winner gets 10 points, second place gets 9 points, etc.  Tie breaks are per Appendix A.

And Geoff presented the Above and Beyond awards.
The recipients were:

Cheryl Childers for her amazing work with Youth Groups.

George Tolly, Rick Gilmore and Keith Barton for keeping our club in one piece during the fall wind storm.

Wayne Kent for keeping the Racing fair and fast.

Teri Stanbro for filling all the vacant holes in our board.

And finally Jay and Melissa Brudzinski for there help on events and on the board.

Thanks to all that attended the Annual Meeting

Bruce Lee

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Free Boating Safety Course

The Alaska Office of Boating Safety will be offering Alaska Water Wise, a boating course designed for Alaskans on December 11, 2010 from 9 - 6 in the Atwood Building on 550 West 7th Avenue in Anchorage. Segments include pre-departure preparation, boating operations, boating emergencies, cold-water survival, navigation/rules of the road, and legal requirements. Students who attend all sessions, and pass the written exam and skills will be issued a course completion certificate. The course is free but pre-registration is encouraged. For more information, contact Joe McCullough at (907) 269-8704 or Megan Piersma at (907) 269-6042.